Baby Dino toy.

It was announced that we would grandparents for the second time. How exciting, but the question was … What do you make when you are unsure if it’s a boy or girl? Well, that was my dilemma as Bub was going to be a surprise. Don’t even get me started on fabric choices.

So off I went to trawl the net once again. I had to start off with blankets. After all Bub and Mum can never have too many. Now I thought fabric choice was a nightmare, but that is nothing to the number of ways to make a baby blanket. OMG! I was about to give up and choose something else when I can across a You Tube clip for a self binding blanket. It saved me.

HINT !

Make sure you really do measure accurately on each end. Use a magic disappearing dress makers pen to mark it out exactly. It will make those corners so much more crisp.

IMG_1619.JPG

But my blog entry today is not about the Magic Blanket but the matching stuffed Dino toy. Isn’t it just too cute!

Beloved-Ones blog has a simple photo tutorial and link to the pattern. I used the pattern and enlarged it by a third for my first attempt. I also used the matching flannelette material to tie my project in with the Magic Blanket.

The pattern would be easily enlarged to make a pillow sized toy for a toddler. (Note to self … try that idea for older grandchild !)

Why not check out my Pinterest board on Sewing: baby ideas for some other projects.

HINT !
Remember to loop the ribbon and place on the wrong side facing down into Dino. I double stitched over these loops to ensure they didn’t pop out with exuberant play.

Why not add a jingle bell inside Dino too.

Happy sewing !

Leave a comment